Society for Financial Studies


October 9, 2014: Upcoming Keynote Speeches

RFS Executive Editor Andrew Karolyi will be the keynote speaker at the 3rd Luxembourg Asset Management Summit, November 16-18, 2014. For more, click here.

RFS Executive Editor Andrew Karolyi, Editor Geert Bekaert, and Associate Editor John Griffin will be keynote speakers at the 27th Australasian Finance and Banking Conference in Sydney on December 15, 2014. For more, click here.

October 1, 2014: Editor’s Choice: November

The Editor’s Choice article for November 2014 (issue 27/11) is “Fooling Some of the People All of the Time: The Inefficient Performance and Persistence of Commodity Trading Advisors” by Geetesh Bhardwaj, Gary B. Gorton, and K. Geert Rouwenhorst. You can read the article free online here.

September 26, 2014: Executive Editor Blog: Tail Risk is Not Crash Risk…or Is It?

The second installment of Executive Editor Andrew Karolyi’s new series of editorials is available online at RFS Executive Editor Blog. This month’s feature, “Tail Risk is Not Crash Risk…or Is It?” examines “Tail Risk and Asset Prices” by Bryan Kelly and Hao Jiang.

September 22, 2014: Sign Up for RFS Alerts

Did you know you can sign up to receive email notifications every time an issue ofRFS publishes online or an RFS article publishes on Advance Access? It’s easy! Create a free account at our publisher’s web site and select the items you’d like to be notified about.

September 19, 2014: 2015 OU Energy Finance Research Conference

The 2015 OU Energy Finance Research Conference will feature a dual submission option with RFS. The RFS sponsoring editor is Philip Strahan. The paper submission period will be January 1-March 16, 2015. The conference will take place September 10-11, 2015.

September 17, 2014: Bid Deadline for 2016 Cavalcade Approaching

The bid deadline for the 2016 Cavalcade is approaching. For details on how to bid, please visit 2016 Cavalcade. Bids should be received by October 1, 2014.

September 16, 2014: Editor’s Choice: October

The Editor’s Choice article for October 2014 (issue 27/10) is “Tail Risk and Asset Prices” by Bryan Kelly and Hao Jiang. You can read the article free online here.

September 15, 2014: Do You Want to Receive the SFS Newsletter?

Are you interested in receiving the Society for Financial Studies newsletter, with news about The Review of Financial Studies, The Review of Asset Pricing Studies,  The Review of Corporate Finance Studies, and the SFS Finance Cavalcade conference? If so, find out how to become a member of the SFS at Membership.

September 9, 2014: Geert Bekaert in Forbes

RFS Editor Geert Bekaert was interviewed for a recent article in Forbes: ”What Your Investment Portfolio Is Likely Lacking” by Richard Eisenberg.

September 8, 2014: Keep in Touch with RFS on Twitter

Our publisher tweets news from RFS and the Society for Financial Studies. To see more, follow @OxfordJournals and @OUPEconomics on Twitter.

Forthcoming in the RFS

Peer Effects in Risk Aversion and Trust

by Kenneth R. Ahern, Ran Duchin, Tyler Shumway
Existing evidence shows that risk aversion and trust are largely determined by environmental factors. We test whether one such factor is peer influence. Using random assignment of MBA students to peer groups and predetermined survey responses of economic attitudes, we find causal evidence of positive peer effects in risk aversion and no effects in trust. After the first year of the MBA program, the difference between an individual and her peers' average risk aversion has shrunk by 41%. Finding no peer effects in trust is consistent with recent research showing that distinct cognitive processes govern risk aversion and trust.