Updated Statement Regarding the SFS Cavalcade

Given the ongoing uncertainty regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, regrettably we have decided the SFS Cavalcade North America will not be held in person at UNC. We are exploring the possibility of holding it as a virtual conference and we will provide more information when it becomes available. 

Please cancel any hotel reservations you have made at the Rizzo Center by going to https://www.hyatt.com/en-US/group-booking/RDUDH/G-L049  

Below the “find rooms” link is another link for canceling:
“If you need to modify or cancel your group reservation, click here.”

If you have already paid a registration fee, we will automatically refund it. You do not need to contact us for a refund.

Regarding the Current Coronavirus (COVID-19) Outbreak and the SFS Cavalcade

We are planning to proceed with SFS Cavalcade North America 2020 and the safety of the participants is a top priority. We are in hopes that by late May the outbreak will have been contained and not pose a threat. We plan to continually reevaluate whether we need to change the plans based on public health guidance. 

We suggest that participants may want to consider whether they should delay booking travel until closer to the meeting. We also ask participants who have visited a CDC Level 3 country within 14 days prior to the conference (or who otherwise suspect that they may have been exposed to the coronavirus) to refrain from attending. If authors or discussants are unable to attend, we will provide video links so that they can participate electronically.

Program and Registration for Cavalcade North America 2020

The program and registration for SFS Cavalcade North America 2020 are now available on the conference web site. The Cavalcade will take place May 25-28 at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Register by April 15 to pay the discounted registration fee of $175 for members or $225 for nonmembers. The registration fee is waived for doctoral students (from any university) and UNC faculty members.

Decisions for SFS Cavalcade North America 2020

The decisions for SFS Cavalcade North America 2020 have been sent. If you did not receive your decision, please contact us. If you selected dual submission with RAPS or RCFS, you will receive a separate decision email from the journal in the next few weeks.

The program, registration, and hotel information will be posted on the Cavalcade web site in March. We received 1231 submissions. The final program was highly selective, with an 11% acceptance rate. Congratulations to the authors selected for presentation at the conference!

Special Issue: Climate Finance

Issue 33(3) of RFS is a special issue, edited by Harrison Hong, G. Andrew Karolyi, and José A. Scheinkman. This special issue is the result of a 2017-8 initiative by the RFS editorial team to develop research proposals on Climate Finance. The editorial is free to read online. The Editor’s Choice paper is “Pricing Uncertainty Induced by Climate Change” by Michael Barnett, William Brock, and Lars Peter Hansen.

Editorial Team Changes

RFS extends our gratitude to retiring editor Wei Jiang, who is completing her term at the end of the month. Wei has been an editor with RFS since 2017 and previously served as an associate editor.

We are pleased to announce that Tarun Ramadorai will be joining RFS as an editor. Tarun is a professor of financial economics at Imperial College London, a research fellow of CEPR, a senior academic fellow of ABFER, and a nonresident senior fellow at NCAER. He previously served as an associate editor of RFS. His first day will be March 1.